Capture streaming video for free using Videolan

PCMag recently had an article suggesting using Replay A/V (a shareware tool for $50) for capturing streaming audio / video streams. I was left scratching my head why they didn't suggest a wonderful free tool like Videolan. Here's the lowdown on using Videolan to capture video streams:

  1. Download and install Videolan for PC/Mac/Linux.
  2. Click on File > Open Network Stream.
  3. In the dialog box click on "HTTP/HTTPS/FTP/MMS" and type in the URL of the network stream you want to record.
    Videolan Open Network Stream Dialog
  4. Select the "Stream output" checkbox and click the Settings button.
  5. In the dialog box select the File option and browse to create a file for the stream to be written to. Leave all the settings as they are.
    Videolan Stream Output to File
  6. That's it! Click on OK twice and the stream will be written to the file. You can stop anytime you want. For best results use Videolan when playing the file.

Tomorrow: recording MP3's from online radio stations for free!

45 thoughts on “Capture streaming video for free using Videolan

  1. I just like the helpful info you provide in your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your blog and check once more here regularly.
    I’m fairly certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff proper right here!
    Good luck for the next!

    Like

  2. Delightfully, I discovered some newbies in my journey that I will now be faithfully following.
    In the identical time, it also searches for sites you are able to distribute hyperlinks
    to.

    Like

  3. Thanks for some other excellent post. The place else could anybody get
    that type of information in such a perfect method
    of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the search for such info.

    Like

  4. I haven’t checked in in control of a while as I assume it’s the
    perfect time getting boring, nevertheless last several posts are good quality i really guess I will add
    you support in my everyday bloglist. You deserve it friend 🙂

    Like

  5. Heya! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog like yours take a massive amount work?
    I’m completely new to blogging but I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like
    to start a blog so I can easily share my experience
    and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

    Like

  6. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write
    some material for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please blast me an email if interested. Regards!

    Like

  7. I absolutely didn’t expect to see a entry like Capture streaming video for free using Videolan | exertia today. Very impressive. Reminds me of something I learned about help desk analyst salary the other day.

    Like

  8. Excellent blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that
    I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Bless you!

    Like

  9. Dear Exertia,
    Interesting Post, This year will be remembered as the year the Internet Video Revolution has taken over the Internet and simultaneously left many people wondering what streaming videos are all about.
    Good Job!

    Like

    1. The newest version of VideoLan (1.1.0) does give you an empty file when streaming an mp3 internet stream to a file… With prior versions I have no problem as long as I choose the file-type in the drop-down even if I un-check the “Active Transcoding” option.

      Does that help?
      I’m not sure what you were trying to do…
      Best.
      Gabe.

      Like

  10. What version of VLC Player were you using when you wrote this tutorial? I’m using VLC Player 0.9.8a and can not seem to get it to work as you described.

    Thanks…

    Like

  11. hi friends

    I am having problem with saving a streamed video file

    I save a streamed video from another system using vlc but while playing the saved video back it won’t display the length( in seconds ) that is it won’t display the time of the video. The same thing happens while playing the streamed video from another computer.

    This thing creates a great problem in my project that i am doing.

    Would any know how to resolve this problem or give the steps to save the streamed video.

    Advance thanks

    Like

    1. I have the same issue. Can anyone please help with some info on how to change the metadata of a captured stream (whether video or just audio) so that the time will display?

      This is the only thing stopping me from utilizing directly saved stream (without re-encoding). If there is no duration, most players will either not play the file at all or not let you fast forward or backtrack…

      Thank you!

      Gabe.

      Like

  12. does anyone know if this will work for websites like channlesurfing.com . also the mac setup of vlc is a little different. If anyone knows of how to record streaming video w/ a mac on vlc it would be very helpful.. thanks..

    Like

  13. Thanks CJ, and your blog post is quite informative too! Unfortunately Real Audio / Video files are always quite tricky because of their proprietary nature. Haven’t had a chance to experiment with these or with a Mac, so wouldn’t be able to help. But you might try some specific bulletin boards / support forums to see if you get a response there…

    Like

  14. Hey, nice little tutorial. I have a similar one but maybe more general about how to rip RealMedia and Microsoft Media streams here:

    http://unclecj.blogspot.com/2008/06/how-to-download-webradio-and-webtv.html

    Anyway, there’s one thing I still haven’t succeeded in and tried using your advice for – playing the captured realaudio (.rm) in Videolan (on Mac) in an attempt to convert it to wav saved to file. No success… and I don’t know how to get realmedia support into the ancient MPlayer OS X either. Any suggestions?

    Like

  15. Hi. I did the above using the Windows version of VLC. Something seems to be recording, but the video isn’t playing in VLC. I know it’s recording something, as the file I requested to save is getting bigger and bigger (can see this through “Refresh” of the directory). How can I view what it’s recording? What’s the best file format to save in? I saw a few mpeg formats, mp4, mov, etc. I just had the first one checked.

    Like

  16. This didn’t work for me. I followed the steps and a file was produced but it didn’t have any file association and it wouldn’t play using any of the various players I have.

    Like

  17. This is exactly what I had been looking for! This is the “pro”s tool who knows exactly what s/he wants but is looking for the correct tool.

    Thi plug-in doesn’t just give you the videos for a couple of supported web sites, it actually gives you the possibility to use the underlying techniqeus to get them.

    When you don’t get it another way, you still may get it with this tool.

    Like

  18. James, I tried accessing your link – it gives an error in VideoLan and it starts in Windows Media Player but does not give any visual output. I am not sure what might be going wrong here. Try posting a query at the VideoLan Support forums at http://forum.videolan.org/ to see if you can get some help there.

    Like

  19. Hi,

    I have a device (AverMedia DVB-T USB2.0) that can save digital broadcasts to my hard disk. I want to read that output file as a stream so I can forward it on to a machine in another room (lots of people coming round this weekend to watch the football).

    Any ideas?

    Like

Leave a Reply

