Setting up a Prismiq Media Player to show a VLC media stream

I recently spent so many hours getting a video stream enabled from my PC to my Prismiq Media Player that I want to spare the agony for any of you who want to try it yourselves:

1. Enable the remote media agent

Telnet to your MediaPlayer. Login as 'root'. By default, no password is required.

Edit the following line in the configuration file magent.conf (in the 'etc' directory):

CFG_MAGENT_LOCAL = 1

to

CFG_MAGENT_LOCAL = 0

Restart the MediaPlayer by typing 'reboot' from the Linux prompt.

2. Connect to the media agent by telneting to port 2253

3. Setup the MP to listen for the multicast:

SET MCAST_GROUP 237.0.0.1
SET MCAST_PORT 1234
SET ASYNCH 4 0
DEV_OPEN
PLAY
set video_layer 1

4. Stream the media from the VLC server:

Install VLC from videolan.org and fire it up
Open File or DVD or Network Stream.
Check 'Stream output'.
Select 'Settings…' next to 'Stream output'
Check 'UDP' and set the IP and port to the same values set in the Prismiq Media Player (e.g. 237.0.0.1 1234)
Check 'MPEG TS'
Check 'Video codec' and select 'mp2v' and bitrate (e.g. 3072 kb/s)
Check 'Audio codec' and select 'mpga' and bitrate (e.g. 128 kb/s)
Click 'OK' and 'OK' to finish -Enjoy your video

 VLC Stream Settings

For a complete listing of the Media Agent commands, check out the Media Agent Control Interface documentation.

77 thoughts on “Setting up a Prismiq Media Player to show a VLC media stream

  1. Pingback: click this
  2. Pingback: eye makeup
  3. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple
    ipad and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has
    83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    Like

  4. Pingback: miami dolphins
  5. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are
    a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same
    niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to
    work on. You have done a marvellous job!

    Like

  6. Pingback: 3kfreegames.com
  7. Pingback: try this site
  8. Pingback: articleeasy.Com
  9. Pingback: bookblogger.org
  10. After exploring a handful of the blog articles on your web site, I honestly appreciate your technique of
    blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Take a look at my web site as well and let me know what you think.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Mozellstartup.wordpress.com
  12. Pingback: More Bonuses
  13. Amazing blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any ideas? Kudos!

    Like

  14. Hola! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally goot
    the courag to go ahead and give you a shout out
    from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic work!

    Like

  15. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with
    the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid
    theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing,
    it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

    Like

Leave a Reply

